Bookmark and Share
  • Text +
  • Text -

Convocation Exercises

Watch 2013 Convocation Videos

President David Oxtoby

Vice President, Dean of the College and Seeley W. Mudd Professor of Physics Janice Hudgings

ASPC President Darrell Jones III '14

Each September, Convocation traditionally opens the academic year for first-year students and marks the conclusion of their Orientation Week. The ceremony includes speeches by President David Oxtoby and the current president of the Associated Students of Pomona College (ASPC). A professor provides the keynote address, and music faculty provide special music accompaniment. YouTube links and PDFs of past speeches are below when available.

The next Convocation will be held on Tuesday, September 2, 2014.

2014 - Special Convocation




  • President David Oxtoby - text [pdf]
  • William A. Johnson Professor of Government and Professor of Politics Elizabeth Crighton - text [pdf]
  • ASPC President Nathaniel Brown ’12 - text [pdf]  


  • President David Oxtoby - text [pdf]
  • William Polk Russell Professor of Mathematics Shahriar Shahriari - text [pdf]
  • ASPC President Stephanie Almeida '11 – text [pdf]  




  • President David Oxtoby - text [pdf]
  • Stephen M. Pauley M.D. ’62 Professor of Environmental Studies and Professor of Geology Rick Hazlett - text [pdf]
  • ASPC President Elspeth Hilton ’08 - text [pdf]  


  • President David Oxtoby - text [pdf]
  • E. Wilson Lyon Professor of the Humanities and Professor of Philosophy Stephen Erickson - text [pdf]
  • ASPC President Sarah Kuriakose '07 - text [pdf]  


  • President David Oxtoby - text [pdf]
  • W.M. Keck Distinguished Service Professor and Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science and Psychology Deborah Burke - text [pdf]