Bookmark and Share
  • Text +
  • Text -

Distinguished Staff Award

The Distinguished Staff Award was established in 1997 as a special initiative of the Campaign for Pomona College. The fund, which is now an endowed account, reflects the generosity of many individual faculty and staff members, as well as a special contribution from former Pomona President Peter W. Stanley. The Distinguished Staff Award committee looks for a staff member who distinguishes herself or himself some way through service or effort beyond what is required in their daily job. Examples can include, but are not limited to, service to the entire constituency, consistent high level of performance, high performance in the face of particularly daunting work conditions, an outstanding act of some sort, exemplary personal characteristics--kindness, helpfulness, innovation or creativity. It can also be a staff member who goes out of their way to bring staff together or serves in some capacity that enhances the Pomona College community. It could also be someone who goes out of their way to help or befriend students. Since staff are employed in so many different work situations on campus, the ways that staff can distinguish themselves are varied and complex. 

To be eligible for nomination, a staff member needs to have worked for Pomona College for at least five years and cannot be a current member of the Distinguished Staff Award Selection Committee. Past awardees are not eligible for nomination.

The 2013 Selection Committee is: Dani Aurouze (Dean’s Office), Frank Bedoya (Campus Life), Judy Brown (Facilities and Campus Services), Lamanda Darby (Dining Services), Kristin McCoy (Housekeeping), Gene Rhee (Career Development Office) and Art Rodriguez (Admissions). Deadline for nominations is Tuesday, February 26. 

Past Winners

2013: Orlando Gonzalez, Maintenance

           Brenda Schmit, Smith Campus Center


2012: Art Rodriguez, Admissions

2011: Vickie Hirales, Philosophy/Classics/Religious Studies/PPE

2010: Cathy Seaman, Theatre

2009: Frank Bedoya, Campus Life

2008: Jo Grodsky, Chemistry

2008: Ralph Pezoldt, Information Systems

2007: Raye Calderón, Grounds

2007: Kathy Sheldon, Mathematics 

2006: Martha Cerrato, Oldenborg Dining Services

2006: Barbara Clonts, English and Classics

2005: Glenn Flohr, Physics and Astronomy

2005: Janis Moormann, Investment and Trust Services

2004: Don Pattison, Communications

2003: Evelyn Khalili, Politics

2002: María Ramirez, Housekeeping

2001: Margaret Lohre, Annuity and Trust

2000: Judy Brown, Campus Planning and Maintenance

1999: Gail Stiffler, Dean’s Office