Diana Bracy: "Trayvon: He Will Never Be a Man"

Using the powerful medium of story quilts, “American Spring: A Cause for Justice” narrates the reaction to the Trayvon Martin shooting in Florida. The 23 quilts from the Fiber Artists of Hope Network reveal the reactions to Trayvon's death and hopes for a better America.

Susan Shie: "Trayvon Martin: 8 of Wooden Spoons (Wands) in the Kitchen Tarot"

The exhibition will be open Feb. 23 to March 8, 2015, at Bridges Auditorium at Pomona College and is free to the public.

Story quilting is an art form that has derived in part from a long, rich history and goes beyond the simple quilting patterns many people may be familiar with. Story quilting expands on traditional textile-arts techniques to record, in fabric, events of personal or historical significance. Through the accessibility of their colors, patterns and symbols, the quilts of ”American Spring: A Cause for Justice” relate narratives that enable conversations about sensitive topics from our national history, furthering the discussion of racial reconciliation in America.
 
This exhibition is curated by Theresa Shellcroft and is organized by The Fiber Artists of Hope in Victorville, Calif.

Opening Reception

Join us for our opening reception on Thursday, Feb. 26, with lectures at 6 p.m. and the reception at 7 p.m.

Location and Hours

The quilts will be displayed in the lobby of Bridges Auditorium during the hours below. Parking is available in our South Campus Parking Structure

Exhibition Hours
Mon., Feb. 23: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. Mon., March 2: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Tue., Feb. 24: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. Tue., March 3: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 25: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. Wed., March 4: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Thu., Feb. 26: 1 p.m. - 7 p.m. (opening reception) Thu., March 5: 1 - 7 p.m.
Fri., Feb. 27: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. Fri., March 6: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 28: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. Sat., March 7: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Sun., March 1: 12 p.m. - 3 p.m. Sun., March 8: 12 p.m. - 3 p.m.