Three-time NBA Coach of the Year Gregg Popovich coached the Pomona-Pitzer men's basketball team from 1979-1988.

San Antonio Spurs Coach and former Pomona-Pitzer men's basketball coach Gregg Popovich was named the NBA Coach of the Year today.

At Pomona from 1979-1988, Popovich is only the third coach in NBA league history to win the Red Auerbach Trophy three times, keeping company with Pat Riley and Don Nelson.

Now in his 18th year as Spurs head coach, "Pop" led the team to a league-best 62 wins this season and has brought the NBA championship home four times.

Within six years at Pomona, Popovich ignited the team, taking the Sagehens from a 2-22 first season to a SCIAC title and a NCAA Division III Tournament berth.

Popovich is not the only Sagehen connection to the NBA. His long-time assistant coach for the Spurs, Mike Budenholzer '92, became head coach of the Atlanta Hawks last year. Meanwhile, Jason Levien '93 is CEO of the Memphis Grizzlies.