Majors Earn Fulbright & Goldwater

March 2013 brought the wonderful news that two of our majors won prestigious awards!

Lorelei Curtin (PO’13, from Edina, MN) was awarded a Fulbright Fellowship for 2013-2014. For her graduate project, she will spend the year at the University of Otago in Dunedin, where she will study sediment cores from lakes in the Fjordlands region of the South Island, to assess the effect of the Southern Hemisphere westerly winds on the hydrology of New Zealand.

Kyle Metcalfe (PO’14, from Santa Rosa, CA) was awarded a Goldwater Scholarship for 2013-14 to study the process of microbial extraction of iron from clay minerals in seafloor sediments. Kyle’s award makes it two consecutive years that a Geology major has earned a Goldwater award, with Ben Murphy (PO’13) earning one to study volcaniclastic sedimentology in the Long Valley Caldera.

Congratulations to Lorelei and Kyle on their outstanding accomplishments!