Public Policy Analysis Concentrations

The Public Policy Analysis major consists of a five-course policy sequence, a statistics/mathematics requirement, a three-class internship and thesis sequence, and a concentration chosen by the student.

Courses chosen in consultation with student's academic adviser for relevance to internship and direction of study.

Concentrations can be taken in Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Economics, Environmental Analysis, Geology, Physics, Politics, Psychology, Science Technology and Society, and Sociology. Learn more by visiting the Major, Courses link in the navigation.

Faculty Liaisons

Each Pomona College department with a PPA concentration (Anthropology, Biology, etc.) has a faculty member who serves as a PPA faculty liaison. Each of these faculty liaisons meets with and advises students interested in their department's PPA concentration, talking with them about elective courses, internship ideas, and senior theses. Together with the PPA program's coordinator and associate director, the liaisons also form a group which meets regularly to evaluate overall program effectiveness, examine program requirements and discuss issues related to current students.

Thesis Readers

Students choose thesis readers based on both faculty expertise and working relationships formed over the course of the students' academic career at Pomona College. The choice of readers reflects the interdisciplinary nature of the Public Policy Analysis Program and the cooperative relationships among The Claremont Colleges. Because students can take classes at other colleges, and students from other colleges can choose PPA as their major, it is not unusual to have faculty from other colleges read PPA senior theses.

Faculty Liaisons by Department


Cristina Bejarano
Office: Hahn Hall 210
Phone: (909) 607-9553
Email Cristina Bejarano


Fran Hanzawa
Office: Seaver Biology 113
Phone: (909) 607-8601
Email Fran Hanzawa


Charles Taylor
Office: Seaver North 204
Phone: (909) 607-4169
Email Charles Taylor


Eleanor Brown
Office: Carnegie Building 216
Phone: (909) 607-2810
Email Eleanor Brown

Environmental Analysis

Bo Cutter
Office: Carnegie 212
Phone: (909) 607-8187
Email Bo Cutter


Linda Reinen
Office: Edmunds 242
Phone: (909) 621-8672
Email Linda Reinen


Dwight L. Whitaker
Office: Millikan 1153
Phone: (909) 607-9795
Email Dwight L. Whitaker


David Menefee-Libey
Office: Carnegie 4
Phone: (909) 607-9323
Email David Menefee-Libey


Eric Hurley
Office: Lincoln 2102
Phone: (909) 607-1023
Email Eric Hurley

Science Technology and Society

Laura Perini
Office: Pearsons 209
Phone: (909) 607-5095
Email Laura Perini


Lynn Rapaport
Office: Hahn 219
Phone: (909) 607-4349
Email Lynn Rapaport