2017-18 Academic Year: Ines Fister 


Tell us what you would like to see in California or in the U.S. during your time at the College?
I have been to California once before and two places are left on my list: Yosemite National Park and San Diego. I also want to see the Grand Canyon and maybe take a trip to Mexico.

Tell us when and how you started studying foreign languages and what you like about learning languages?
I started studying English in elementary school, Italian in high school, and German Sign Language in college. I love that learning languages is so much fun! You get to meet new people through nice conversations, engage with various media in the new language and learn more about the culture connected to it.

Tell us what you studied at the university and what you might like to do one day?
I received my bachelor's with a major in special education, with a focus in sign language pedagogy and audiology pedagogy, and a minor in English. I am currently pursuing a teaching degree in the same fields. In the future, I would like to teach part-time and work in counseling, individual support or early intervention.

Past German Language Residents

  • 2016-2017: Martin Siebert
  • 2015-2016: Charlotte Eisenblätter
  • 2014-2015: Mirja Schoderer
  • 2012-2014: Ulrich Ciesla
  • 2010-2012: Julia Hövelmann
  • 2009-2010: Svenja Johannsen
  • 2007-2009: Tabea Bruckelt
  • 2006-2007: Susanne Wernicke
  • 2004-2006: Monika Schulz
  • 2003-2004: Lena Oschewsky
  • 2002-2003: Tanja Rinker
  • 2000-2002: Patrick Vins
  • 1998-2000: Ricarda Klussendorf
  • 1997-1998: Holger Witt
  • 1995-1997: Albrecht Eitz
  • 1993-1995: Fabienne Quennet
  • 1992-1993: Anke Barth
  • 1990-1992: Sonja Mang
  • 1989-1990: Maria Fischerleitner
  • 1988-1989: Eberhard Orf
  • 1987-1988: Willi Stengl
  • 1985-1987: Heinz Przewodnik
  • 1982-1985: Eva Pressler
  • 1980-1982: Susanne Leyendecker
  • 1977-1980: Astrid Bujara
  • 1975-1977: Marie-Luise Rohwer
  • 1971-1975: Jurgen Klinge
  • 1968-1971: Maria Jorde
  • 1967-1968: Irene Bizer